Advanced features

Synchronizing Your Clusters

The Self Service Portal uses a database holding the truth about the stream and applications that exist within your company. In some cases, e.g. when a cluster is offline for some time, or a new cluster is added, the streams might not have been created and configured on that cluster, and clusters become out of sync. When this is the case, the "Synchronize" feature can be used to bring the underlying clusters back in sync.

Use the features below only if you know what you are doing.

Synchronizing an Environment

When synchronizing an environment, you are creating and configuring all streams and their authorizations on any cluster that is bound to this environment.

  1. Log in as a Super admin.

  2. Switch to the tenant for which you want to synchronize the environment.

  3. Select or search the environment.

  4. Click "Synchronize" and wait for all streams to be synchronized.

Synchronizing an Instance

When synchronizing an instance, you are creating and configuring all streams and their authorizations on any cluster that is bound to this instance (for all environments).

  1. Log in as a Super admin.

  2. Search for to the tenant for which you want to synchronize the environment.

  3. Select or search the instance.

  4. Click "Synchronize" and wait for all streams to be created & configured.

Configuring Stream Properties

For users with the Tenant Admin role, it is possible to configure advanced (Kafka) properties for a stream in a given environment. For information on what properties can be configured, see https://kafka.apache.org/documentation/.adoc#topicconfigs

TODO: find filtered properties

Configure stream properties

Stream Properties

Stream properties allow for fine grained configuration of streams where this is necessary.

Adding A Stream Property

  1. Click "Add property" to add a property. Use the "NAME" of the property (something like foo.bar) and enter a value

  2. Click "Save" to apply the stream configuration

Deleting A Stream Property

  1. Click the delete icon next to the property to delete just this property

  2. Click "Save" to apply the stream configuration